The Village operates under the President-Trustee form of local government which combines the political leadership of elected officials with the managerial experience of a professional Village Administrator. South Holland has eight elected officials – six Trustees, a Clerk, and a President (Mayor). Our officials are elected at-large, which means that they represent the entire Village rather than specific districts.

Together, the Mayor and Village Board of Trustees create policy and direction for the Village. They perform such functions as passing resolutions and ordinances, approving the expenditure of money, levying taxes, approving subdivisions, zoning, and other land use regulations, and generally deciding on important issues which affect the Village of South Holland.

The President appoints the Village Administrator and Department Heads with the approval of the Board. The Village Administrator carries out the policies and oversees the daily operation of Village business. The Department Heads report to the Village Administrator and are charged with directing the activities of the respective departments.