The Investigative Division is comprised of one (1) Detective Lieutenant, one (1) Supervising Sergeant, Four (4) Detectives, and Four (4) Patrol Officers. Within the Investigative Division there is a Special Operations Unit, Student Resource Officer (SRO), and an Officer assigned to the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA). The Investigative Division handles most of the investigative responsibilities of reported crimes and evidence maintenance. All of the detectives are also certified juvenile officers.

  • Special Operations Unit – The Special Operations Unit aggressively patrols the residential and business districts, conducting traffic stops and identifying suspicious activity. The Special Operations Unit performs surveillance of suspected criminal activity to obtain intelligence to suppress gang, drug, and guns activity. The Special Operations Unit contains a Supervising Sergeant, a Detective and Four (4) Patrol Officers.
  • School Resource Officer (SRO) – The SRO is assigned to Thornwood high School and handles all police matters that occur at the high school. The SRO also functions as a liaison between the Police Department, teachers and administration at the high school.
  • Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) – The South Holland Police Department works in a joint effort with the DEA to stop the flow of Narcotics into the Chicagoland area. The Officer assigned as the DEA liaison works full time with the DEA Chicago Office. For our participation in this program, the Village of South Holland receives a portion of any illegal money seized in drug forfeiture cases closed by the DEA Officer and their team.


The South Holland Police Department also belongs to several multi-jurisdictional groups: The South Suburban Major Crimes Task Force, Cook County Gang Task Force and the Southeast Criminal Investigators.

  • South Suburban Major Crimes Task Force – The SSMCTF is a force that provides comprehensive investigative services to all participating member agencies. These services include, but are not limited to, major drug related violent crimes including homicides, non-parental kidnappings, and other exceptionally heinous crimes when requested to do so by the Police Chief of the member agency with the approval of the Board of Directors. The SSMCTF is comprised of 54 South Suburban Police Departments who have assigned approximately 150 investigators.
  • Southeast Criminal Investigators – This innovative program was initiated by South Holland Police Chief Warren Millsaps and was formed to bring investigators from Police agencies in the Southeast section of Cook County and Northwest Indiana together on a monthly basis to compare notes and share information. In addition to local police agencies, the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI), the Cook County Sheriff’s Police and the Cook County States Attorneys Investigative Unit also participate.


The Investigative division encourages you to call, write, or email us with any information or questions you have on any of the above programs.